漩渦

德昌森記蒸籠 & 丁樂融

觀賞者會留意到這吊燈當中的細節,即是把原竹從一大棵開成六片,有如傳統竹藝工序的第一步開竹。蒸煮竹片至軟身後,彎曲至圓形並作定形,發展製作至最外圍的蒸籠完成品。整個製作工序,正正就是蒸籠的傳統製作方法。吊燈以光線呈現竹的流線感覺,把竹不一樣的型態呈現,展示其可塑性。

 

傳統工藝的故事

論香港特有的飲食文化,少不了上茶樓品嚐「一盅兩件」(一盅茶和兩件點心)。而製作「兩件」時用上的竹蒸籠,歷史更是源遠流長。起源自華南地區,竹蒸籠最初用作蒸煮五穀雜糧,其後也為烹調魚肉等其他食材之用。時至今日,琳琅滿目的各款點心,放在獨立蒸籠內供應,蒸籠的款式尺寸亦愈見精巧。

竹蒸籠的構造盡顯前人的生活智慧。疏通的籠底讓水蒸氣可在籠內流通,而緊密編織的籠蓋能鎖緊蒸氣的熱力,拱頂設計使熱力得在籠內循環對流,再加上竹材的透氣度,則可預防倒汗水形成,而影響食物的味道和質感。竹蒸籠另一巧妙之處,是其可層層疊起的設計,每層都是可以隨意加減的模組,方便需要時在同一時間多層煮食,靈活有效地節省能源、時間及空間。竹片的清香,還會為籠中蒸煮的食物增添一陣獨特的風味。傳統的竹蒸籠正就是現代「型隨機能」(form follows function) 的最佳範例。

 


製作工序

論香港特有的飲食文化,少不了上茶樓品嚐「一盅兩件」(一盅茶和兩件點心)。而製作「兩件」時用上的竹蒸籠,歷史更是源遠流長。起源自華南地區,竹蒸籠最初用作蒸煮五穀雜糧,其後也為烹調魚肉等其他食材之用。時至今日,琳琅滿目的各款點心,放在獨立蒸籠內供應,蒸籠的款式尺寸亦愈見精巧。

竹蒸籠的構造盡顯前人的生活智慧。疏通的籠底讓水蒸氣可在籠內流通,而緊密編織的籠蓋能鎖緊蒸氣的熱力,拱頂設計使熱力得在籠內循環對流,再加上竹材的透氣度,則可預防倒汗水形成,而影響食物的味道和質感。竹蒸籠另一巧妙之處,是其可層層疊起的設計,每層都是可以隨意加減的模組,方便需要時在同一時間多層煮食,靈活有效地節省能源、時間及空間。竹片的清香,還會為籠中蒸煮的食物增添一陣獨特的風味。傳統的竹蒸籠正就是現代「型隨機能」(form follows function) 的最佳範例。

 

同系列作品

展覽的其他作品

鳥南枝

陳樂財 & 郭達麟

See Details

再世盧亭

張歡 & 神野猫

See Details

翡翠盤高走夜光

陸樹才和陸強才 & 蘇林海

See Details

廣彩出行

盧聲前 & 梁祖彝 & 粵東磁廠

See Details

風隨意思而吹

林斷山明

See Details

千結旗袍

何善恒

See Details

Swirly

Lawrence Ting & Tuk Chong Sum Kee

Through the deconstruction and reinterpretation of the traditional bamboo steamer, Lawrence has created two lighting designs to capture his fond memories of family gatherings and moments of daily lives in Hong Kong’s traditional dim sum restaurants (yum cha). One of the details of the chandelier is the splitting and opening up of the original bamboo into six divisions, which resonates with the first step of the traditional bamboo crafting process. As the bamboo pieces are steamed and softened, they are curved into circular shapes, which became the steamer-shaped structure at the end of each branch of the chandelier. The whole fabrication is precisely borrowed from the process of the making of traditional bamboo steamer. The lighting highlights the curves of the bamboo structure, which also brings out the malleable quality of the bamboo.

Story of the Traditional Craft

Dim sum is nowadays synonymous to the Hong Kong local culinary culture. Originated from the south, bamboo steamers were first used for cooking grains, but were later extended to the cooking of meat and fish. In the past decades, these mouthful bites of delicacies which came to be known as dim sum have been cooked and served separately in individual bamboo steamers.

Composed of an open-weave bottom and a domed lid, the structure of the bamboo steamers allows steam to travel through the bottom and circulate, while the domed lid prevents the steam to escape. Given the density of the bamboo, moisture from the steam is retained without causing any condensation which would dampen the food, while locking in the flavor and keeping its moisture and tenderness. One of the unique features with this cooking method is that the bamboo steamers can be stacked one on top of another, allowing multiple dishes to be cooked at the same time. The scent of the bamboo can also diffuse a subtle aroma and add flavor to the food being steamed in the container. The traditional craft of bamboo steamer is a prime example of the modern design principle of “form follows function”.

Making Process

Dim sum is nowadays synonymous to the Hong Kong local culinary culture. Originated from the south, bamboo steamers were first used for cooking grains, but were later extended to the cooking of meat and fish. In the past decades, these mouthful bites of delicacies which came to be known as dim sum have been cooked and served separately in individual bamboo steamers.

Composed of an open-weave bottom and a domed lid, the structure of the bamboo steamers allows steam to travel through the bottom and circulate, while the domed lid prevents the steam to escape. Given the density of the bamboo, moisture from the steam is retained without causing any condensation which would dampen the food, while locking in the flavor and keeping its moisture and tenderness. One of the unique features with this cooking method is that the bamboo steamers can be stacked one on top of another, allowing multiple dishes to be cooked at the same time. The scent of the bamboo can also diffuse a subtle aroma and add flavor to the food being steamed in the container. The traditional craft of bamboo steamer is a prime example of the modern design principle of “form follows function”.

Artworks from same series

OTHER WORKS FROM EXHIBITION

Pavo

Dylan Kwok & Chan Lok Choi

See Details

Reborn Merman

Jinno Neko & Cheung Foon

See Details

Emerald Lotus

Luk Shu-Choi and Luk Keung-Choi & Anthony So

See Details

GO OUT with Guangcai

SingChin Lo & Joey Leung & Yuet Tung China Works

See Details

Liberty of the Wind

Lam Duen Shan Ming

See Details

Thousand Knots Qipao

Polly Ho

See Details