翡翠盤高走夜光

陸樹才和陸強才,炳記銅器 & 蘇林海

經過與炳記兩位陸師傅的技藝交流,蘇林海以傳統鍛敲技術,加上琺瑯工藝,製造了六角茶盤來襯托炳記師傅的茶具。打破傳統圓方型銅器的規律,六角形是自然存在的對稱幾何形,可以幾件拼合起來填滿整個平面。茶盤和六角琺瑯小碟成為同系列的作品。茶盤製作在鍛敲時特意摺皺銅面,形成自然、粗獷的手造痕跡。鍛敲完成的銅皿再以多重琺瑯釉彩高溫燒製, 以銀箔營造寫意的圖案,有著東方美學的意境。茶盤的隔水以黃銅片鏤空荷花圖案,將傳統的剪紙表現在金屬上,既美觀又實用。六角琺瑯茶盤還附有三腳幾何支架,配以六角茶盤,讓傳統三足皿以新的現代形式表現。

 

傳統工藝的故事

五、 六十年代,香港約有三十多間銅器店。然而,與香港的製造業和工業一樣,鍛敲銅器八十年代就沒落,現已只剩下炳記銅器了。

陸樹才和陸強才兩位自小跟隨父親陸炳先生學習打銅,這是傳統工藝傳承的常見形式,父傳子一代傳一代。

兩位陸師傅多年來風雨不改,每天坐在小椅子(俗稱「凳仔」) 上敲敲打打,製造各款銅器。由小小的一隻匙羹,到放置在涼茶舖的大爐鼎,統統都由他倆手製。

每位客人和炳記銅器的淵源,彷彿訴說着他們的個人故事和生活器具的關係。有位老顧客,對炳記銅器銅製的小鍋(俗稱「煲仔」) 有着深厚的感情,多年來一直沿用它煮廣東生滾粥,念念不忘。老顧客年紀大了,已經移居新加坡,每次女兒來香港探親,她都叮囑女兒要在炳記銅器購買銅製的小鍋回國,因為只有炳記的銅製煲仔才能煮出生滾粥的真正味道。欣賞兩位師傅手藝的知音人,除了是本地的老顧客以外,還有鍾情工藝文化的年輕日本人。顧客特製一套紅銅咖啡杯,襯托極簡主意和侘寂風格的咖啡店,也是對手做工藝的致敬。

當年炳記銅器的其中一個熱賣產品是黃銅茶壼。關於黃銅茶壺( 俗稱「茶煲」)與香港文化的關係,就要由港式「飲茶」說起。

以往香港傳統的舊式茶樓,多數是「一盅兩件」,是港式飲茶的典型文化符號。「一盅」是焗盅,或稱蓋碗,意即用蓋杯泡茶,舊式茶樓夥計拿着黃銅茶壺為茶客添水。「兩件」是指點心,如蝦餃、燒賣等。五、六十年代的茶樓,「茶博士」(即為客人沖水的侍應)提着大大的黃銅茶壺,對準蓋碗連沖三次,滴水不漏,稱作「鳳凰三點頭」。這是茶藝道中的一種傳統禮儀,是對客人表示敬意,同時也表達了對茶的敬意。可是,用盛滿熱水的黃銅茶壺沖茶,始終有燙到茶客的危險。近年已改用不鏽鋼熱水壺沖水,或把茶壺直接拿去大型電水爐添水再放回枱上。茶博士這職業,也漸被淘汰,這個沖茶文化,現在只剩下老字號才會繼續沿用。

製作工序

炳記銅器一般是採用紅銅或黃銅打造而成。紅銅 (Copper),即純銅,顧名思義,因為它呈淺紅色的光澤,一般稱之為紅銅,紅銅由於柔軟熔點高,而且它的熔液黏性大,不適合鑄造大的容器,因而鑄造時多與其他化學元素合鑄。黃銅 (Brass),即銅和鋅 (Zinc) 的合金。外觀黃色,也有金屬光澤和一般金屬特性。

傳統的鍛敲大多用錘以同心圓方式不斷錘擊放置鐵鉆上金屬片,令金屬收縮或延展成形,技術上務求金屬沒有摺皺。炳記銅器的壺和杯,就是運用這樣原則和技藝來完成的作品。製作銅器,需要用一大塊銅片開始做,就好像剪裁衣服用一塊布那樣。製造一個大的銅茶壺大概要二十多天。全個茶壺都是人手做的,不過,兩位師傅均認為茶煲的嘴最難製造,原因是形狀難弄得好,另外形狀需要做到剛好,和壺身接駁。

一件銅器往往要千錘百鍊,然後要焊接、打磨,每個步驟都灌注心力和技術。陸氏兄弟認為,手打銅器是獨一無二的傳統工藝品,除了技術,還要在設計附上心思,需要耐性與功夫把講求細節的銅器打造出來,製成品才有靈魂。

同系列作品

展覽的其他作品

編航城觀

西本有

See Details

鐵鉢盛籠

西本有

See Details

竹細工手提籃

西本有

See Details

船型小六角穿花果籃

陳詠笙

See Details

三角盤

陳詠笙

See Details

菊花紋小夜燈

陳詠笙

See Details

夕顏

陳詠笙

See Details

生命之源 – 纏

陳詠笙

See Details

台灣土狗

王生輝

See Details

茶葉貯茶籃(密編與疏編)

王生輝

See Details

野餐籃

王生輝

See Details

燈具(菓物盤、鴨飼料碗和雞籠)

王生輝

See Details

平編竹藤銅茶壺

丁科竣 & 陸樹才和陸強才

See Details

麻葉編小皿

丁科竣

See Details

六角菊花墊

丁科竣

See Details

咖啡濾器

丁科竣

See Details

茶漏

丁科竣

See Details

燈籠

丁科竣

See Details

小滿毛月

丁科竣

See Details

鳥南枝

陳樂財 & 郭達麟

See Details

再世盧亭

張歡 & 神野猫

See Details

漩渦

丁樂融 & 德昌森記蒸籠

See Details

廣彩出行

盧聲前 & 梁祖彝 & 粵東磁廠

See Details

風隨意思而吹

林斷山明

See Details

千結旗袍

何善恒

See Details

Emerald Lotus

Luk Shu-choi and Luk Keung-choi, Ping Kee Copperware & Anthony So


Following his exchange with tradition craftsmen the Luk brothers from Ping Kee Copperware, Anthony So employed the traditional metal forging technique combined with the craft of enamelling, and produced a hexagonal tea tray to match with Ping Kee’s tea sets. The hexagon is an unconventional shape for copperware, which normally follows a round shape, but its natural geometric form allows a flat conherant surface to be formed when several hexagons are put together. The tea tray together with the hexagonal enamelled small plates belong to the same series of works. During the fabrication of the tea tray, the surface was deliberately creased to create a natural and rough surface which reflects the handmade quality. The forged metal containers are then coated with layers of enamel under high temperature, while silver leaves are used to create patterns and imageries that embody the Oriental aesthetics. The filter of the tea tray is a stencil made of brass, and is carved out using the traditional Chinese paper-cutting method, creating a lotus flower-patterned filter which is both aesthetically pleasing and practical. The hexagonal enamelled copper tea tray is accompanied by a tripod, and the combination reinvents the traditional design of the three-legged vessel by adding a contemporary touch.

Story of the Traditional Craft

In the 50s and 60s, there were around 30 copperware stores in Hong Kong. However, sharing the same fate as Hong Kong’s manufacturing industry, in the 80s, the copper forging industry started to decline, and nowadays, the only remaining business is Ping Kee Copperware.

Luk Shu-choi and Luk Keung-choi started learning copper forging at a young age from their father Luk Ping, which was the common way of how traditional craft is perpetuated by passing on from one generation to the next.

The two Luk brothers would sit on a small stool every day, regardless of the weather condition, hammering copper and creating different kinds of objects by hand, from a small spoon to the huge boiling vessel seen at the Chinese herbal tea shops.

The encounter between Ping Kee Copperware and their customers often involves a personal story with the objects. There is a loyal customer who has developed an intimate bond with the small copper pot from Ping Kee, and she has been using the pot for cooking Cantonese congee for years. As the customer aged and moved to Singapore, every time her daughter visited her relatives in Hong Kong, she would ask her to purchase a small copper pot from Ping Kee back home, as only the Ping Kee’s copper pot could bring out the true flavor of the congee. Besides recurrent local customers, the craftsmanship of Ping Kee is also being appreciated by young Japanese who are passionate about the craft culture. Customers would customize a set of copper coffee cups to go with their minimal and wabi-sabi style coffee shop, which is also a way to pay homage to the handicraft.

Back in the days, the best-selling item from Ping Kee was the brass teapot. The relationship between brass teapot and Hong Kong culture has to be traced back to the Cantonese style yum cha culture.

In the past, the old-style traditional Hong Kong tea houses would mostly serve tea with dim sum, which was the most symbolic of Hong Kong’s yum cha culture. The tea would be served in a cup with cover, and the waiter would add water to the tea using a brass teapot. In the 50s and 60s, waiters who served tea were known as “Tea Professors”, and they would be holding a huge brass teapot, aiming at the tea cup, and pour water into it three times without spilling any water out of the cup. This is a traditional etiquette in tea ceremony, which is also a way to show respect to the customers and the tea itself. However, as there is a risk of scalding customers when serving tea in a hot water-filled brass teapot, in recent years, stainless steel teapots have been used instead, and sometimes the teapots are brought to the electric boilers to be refilled before being returned to the table. The profession of “Tea Professor” has also been dying out, and the traditional way of serving tea would only be used in long-established local tea houses.

 

 

Making Process

The copperware at Ping Kee is generally forged using copper or brass. Copper, in its purest form, has a light-red luster, and due to its malleability and high melting point, as well as a high viscosity, it is not suitable for casting big containers, and is instead combined with other chemical elements to form alloys. Brass, for instance, is an alloy of copper and zinc, with a golden appearance as well as the luster and properties of metal.

Traditional copper forging is generally performed by hammering a metal sheet placed on an anvil in concentric movements, causing the metal to compress or extend while avoiding the formation of creases. The pots and cups from Ping Kee Copperware are forged using this principle and technique. The production of copperware requires a large sheet of copper to begin with, which is akin to tailoring clothing using fabric. To fabricate a large copper teapot takes around twenty days. The whole teapot is made by hand, and both the Luk brothers think that the sprout is the most challenging part to manage, as the form is difficult to shape, and has to be precise so that it could be connected seamlessly with the body.

A piece of copperware requires persistent and repetitive forging process followed by welding and polishing, and every single step demands concentration, strength and technique. The Luk brothers believe that handcrafted copperware is a unique traditional craft, and besides techniques, it also requires thoughts on the design, patience and experience to bring out the details of a copperware, and to create a product which has a soul

Artworks from same series

OTHER WORKS FROM EXHIBITION

Pavo

Dylan Kwok & Chan Lok Choi

See Details

Reborn Merman

Jinno Neko & Cheung Foon

See Details

Swirly

Lawrence Ting & Tuck Chong Sum Kee

See Details

GO OUT with Guangcai

SingChin Lo & Joey Leung & Yuet Tung China Works

See Details

Liberty of the Wind

Lam Duen Shan Ming

See Details

Thousand Knots Qipao

Polly Ho

See Details